Carrot Juice Rocks

IMG_2290

I tend to fall in a vegetable rut – big time. I buy, prepare or order pretty much the same limited selection of veggies day after day. I’m not as adventurous as I’d like to be. Bok choy – never cooked it myself. Eggplant – husband doesn’t like it. Carrots and celery – one child is allergic.

Enter the juicer. It was my Christmas present / toy that is opening up quite a new world for me. This morning I made a simple combo of 1 lb of carrots, 1/2 lemon (peeled and seeded), and an apple. Delicious! It’s sweet and gorgeous. I would never in a million years get all the vitamins and phytonutrients I’ve just drunk. Yay!

I wrote an earlier blog on the juice cleanse fad. I’m not a fan of an extended cleanse for reasons given there. However, if you’re in a vegetable rut,  you know you don’t eat enough fruits and vegetables, or you’d like to reset your taste buds away from processed foods, and sugary and salty fare, then a short cleanse or an occasional juice (homemade or from a juice bar) are a great solution.

5 thoughts on “Carrot Juice Rocks

    • I’m using a Breville juicer which has a great reputation but is pricey. If you juice often, a heavy-duty but easy-to-clean juicer is justified. Otherwise, you can get away with cheaper models. Just do you research.

      I’m happily collecting and trying lots of recipes. I just found a few more on Stanford’s Cancer Center page along with this quote, “Fresh juice is loaded with cancer-fighting phytochemicals and vitamins, in a state easily absorbed by the body.” Check them out here: http://cancer.stanford.edu/patient_care/services/nutrition/recipes/juicingRecipes.html
      Their carrot juice doesn’t call for the lemon like the one I posted in the blog, but I really enjoyed that slight citrus tang since the carrot and apple are both sweet.
      Another on my to-try list is Joe Cross’ recipe from Fat, Sick and Nearly Dead. It goes like this:

      MEAN GREEN MACHINE
      * 2 Medium Granny Smith Apples
      * 4 Large stalks of celery
      * 1 Large Cucumber
      * 1 Thumb of Ginger
      * 6 Leaves of Kale
      * 1/2 Lemon

      I’ve also seen several recipes using sweet potatoes!! Has anyone tried that? Please share your favorite concoctions. It’s fun to experiment with new ingredients and combinations.

  1. Signing up for a CSA is a great way to expand your veggie horizons. I cooked things I had never even heard of in my last year’s selection. Can’t wait for this year!

  2. Pingback: Beet Juice for People Who Hate Beets | Elemental Wellness

Let me know what you think.

